Kiprono, Gesabwa are Repeat Bellin Run Champs

Gesabwa Makes History with Fourth Straight Win as 16,539 Register for Event

Allan Kiprono and Risper Gesabwa repeated as Bellin Run champions in 2015, each earning a fourth race title during the 39th annual event. Kiprono finished the 10K (6.2-mile) course in 29:01; Gesabwa won in 32:50.

Gesabwa’s victory was her fourth consecutive win, making her the first woman in Bellin history to earn four titles in a row. Kim Merritt and Joan Samuelson each won four Bellin championships, but did so in non-consecutive years. Joscah Obare took second for the women (33:04) in her first Bellin Run, followed by Wisconsin native and up-and-coming runner Kellyn Taylor (33:50).

On the men’s side, Lani Rutto again was Kiprono’s runner-up, as he has been for each of his countryman’s titles — in 2011, 2012, 2014 and 2015. Rutto, who swapped places on the podium with Kiprono as 2013’s champion, finished with a time of 29:50. Second-time Bellin Run elite and 2014 Boston Marathon winner and Meb Keflezighi took third for the men, notching 30:06.

The Bellin Run registered 16,539 participants in its 39th year, down from 18,213 in 2014. Runners and walkers took to the streets in nearly ideal conditions under mostly cloudy skies with temperatures near 60 degrees and moderate humidity at the 8 a.m. start.

Bellin’s elite athletes were heavily involved with this year’s pre-race activities, participating in the Friday Run With Greatness Charity Fun Run and Charity Luncheon, as well as signing autographs during the Friday night Health & Wellness Expo at Astor Park.

Other male athletes invited by the Bellin Run had the following times:
• Benson Cheruiyot, Kenya: 30:23
• Luke Humphrey, Michigan: 31:12
• Mike Morgan, Nebraska: 31:22
• Oliver Hoffman, Germany: 31:48
• Bill Rodgers, Massachusetts: 46:57

Other female athletes invited by the Bellin Run had the following times:
• Joscah Obare, Kenya: 33:04
• Melissa Johnson-White: 37:08
• Joan Samuelson, Maine: 39:53
• Uta Pippig, Colorado: 46:40

The overall course records did not fall. Joseph Kimani retains the men’s course record of 27:46 set in 1997 and Tegla Loroupe holds the women’s course record with a time of 31:48 set in 1999.
Local and state notables include Holly Nearman of Milwaukee (37:20; 7th overall); Monika Kalicinska (37:31; 8th overall); Jennifer Chaudoir of Green Bay (39:08; 10th overall); Brian Finnel of Forestville (30:48; 5th overall); Tyler Sigl of Seymour (30:56; 6th overall); Brandon Dworak of Denmark (31:33; 9th overall); Armando Torres of Green Bay (32:39; 12th overall); and Jason Ryf of Oshkosh (32:45; 14th overall).

Complete Bellin Run results are available through the Bellin Run website at